along the Pasig River is the picturesque town of Makati, approximately six
kilometers away from the heart of the City of Manila. Its history dates back to
the time when Don Miguel Lopez de Legaspi first set foot on it in 1571 and gave
it the name San Pedro Macati, which was derived from the name of the Patron
Saint, San Pedro and the Tagalog term for ebbing tide "Makati na" or
"Kumati na". At times, it was referred to as Sampiro, a corruption of
San Pedro. The name San Pedro Macati was to remain until the early 20th
Between the years from 1578 to 1670, Makati was a "visita" or a district of Santa Ana de Sapa under the jurisdiction of a Franciscan priest named Pedro de Alfaro.
was said that when the Spaniards came in 1571, the territory now occupied by
this municipality was ruled by a chieftain (regalo or lakan) called Lacantagean
(Lakan Tagkan) and his wife Bouan. They lived in Namayan (now part of Santa Ana,
Manila). According to the Franciscan’s records, Lakan Tagkan reigned over
Maycatmon, Catatonglogan, Dogos Dibag, Pinausam, Yamagtogon, until Maysapan
which territories were identified by the Franciscan missionaries as the
territories of Malate or Malte, Dilao now Paco, Pandacan, Quiapo, Sampaloc, San
Miguel, San Juan del Monte,
Taytay, San Felipe Neri of Mandaluyong and San Pedro Makati.
peace treaty of 1900, ending the Filipino American war, saw Makati under a
municipal president. The Philippine Commonwealth Act. No. 137 dated June 11,
1901 incorporated San Pedro de Makati in the province of Rizal. Two years later,
a town administrator was installed to supervise the affairs of the community. In
1914, the Philippines Legislature Act No. 2390 changed the name San Pedro de
Makati to Makati which remained as its official name. The year 1962 saw the
construction of a new municipal building for the local administration of Makati.
It was erected on a two hectare lot donated by the Ayala Securities Corporation.
© COPYRIGHT 2000-2001 - ASIATRAVELLING.NET